3/2/2015: It’s been a long time…


My last post was back in October last year. Up to the end of 2014 I had abstained from making my art for a couple of months to focus on earning some money from my part-time teaching. This was a great way for me to get away from the studio in order to fully develop some ideas that I had been toying with for a while. I churned out quite a lot of artwork in January. Here’s some of the work I did, some of these will go on to be developed further…

My new focus was preparing for a small exhibition of work at the Brook Cafe/Music venue in Wallington, London.

I’d been introduced to the owner by my friends in the band The Frisby’s (More about them later). They liked my a displaywork and offered me a slot in February to show my work. I jumped at the chance and set about making more paintings. I put the work up last Friday evening. There’s a cosy atmosphere in the cafe and it was nice to install the paintings listening to a live acoustic open mic session. I’m very happy with the layout of my images, they all have prices on – I have also made a wall plan with detailed information regarding titles/dates/media used. One painting has sold already!! Here’s to a month at the Brook…

I have always been a great admirer of Patrick Caulfield’s work See his work here: http://www.londontown.com/LondonEvents/Patrick-Caulfield/76863/ . I love the big expanses of colour and subtle references to indoor spaces: The shapes of shadows on a wall that isn’t visible or the light from a window from around the corner. I want to introduce that kind of space into my work. I’ve also collected a vast amount of vintage stereo, amplifier, speaker images from spending time in the depths of Google. I started a series of paintings based on the use of colour and lettering in old advertisements from the 70’s. (Also see my Letterpress Blog https://moveanytype.wordpress.com/ ). When I’m browsing through the many LP covers that appear on my Twitter feed and Facebook pages I see certain letter Fonts or Phrases that I want to incorporate into my paintings. It’s early stages but I will be posting some of these images in a week or two.

IMG_9721I’m also starting some more large pieces which require stretching to prevent the paper from buckling. I soaked the paper in the bath for 20 mins then sponged it flat – pushing out air bubbles (made me think of seeing those workers on ladders putting up large advertising posters, pushing getting rid of creases with sponges on extended rods). I double up the strips of gum tape in weaker areas.

Last but not least I’m applying for an artist residency in a record shop! It’s a one month project to make a sculpture for a record store. Brilliant! It would be an amazing opportunity – It would take my work into interesting directions if I started transforming ideas using 3-D materials. I’ll post when I know…..

 

